Change is Good for the Soul!

Photo on 2014-06-25 at 19.11As a teacher, I have always longed for summer vacation beginning around spring break.  I dream of vacations, lounging around the pool, reading a few new novels, and going to new places with my husband. Usually I accomplish all of those things, but then I’m left with more time than I know what to do with…ask my husband…he knows I get restless pretty quickly a few weeks into summer break.

I’ve discovered that changing things around the house is a good way to keep busy and also makes things seem new without spending a dime! When dusting, I will move pictures to new locations or move knickknacks from one room to another…anything to keep things fresh.  Even my son notices when we change things up!

We decided to move our family room furniture around to create a more open space around our back glass door…and to let more light in…..

It was a task, but so needed!!!  Not only did it force us to clean under the furniture, but it allowed us to be creative in deciding where to place the pieces of furniture. In addition, we ended up dusting and cleaning areas that are usually neglected.  It was also fun because my husband and I collaborated on the placement and of course his brawn helped in moving the large pieces around.

The final product was so rewarding!   We live simple…we have a simple house and simple furnishings, but we feel so blessed.  It’s amazing how such a simple thing like moving your furniture around can make things seem brand new….and it didn’t cost a dime!  So much more light comes in our home and I’ve found a brand new spot that I love to read and blog.  I thank God for the simple things in life that bring joy!

 

Leave a Reply

