Character

Summer is my time off….from school that is….I am a teacher.  My summers begin very industrially…cleaning out dusty, over filled closets, reorganizing kitchen cabinets, sprucing up long neglected flower beds and a myriad of other “catch ups” that are on my list!

Then when the dust settles, I am left with true relaxation and reflection.  I enjoy these days, but honestly, it’s difficult for me to completely slow down.  But when I do…it’s much needed.

I love reflection, because it causes me to not only think of the past, but to look forward to how that past impacts the future.  One thing that is forever in the forefront of my mind, is my children. Circumstances cause me to think of how we raised them….did we instill in them the love of Christ?  Did we spend time with them teaching them how to treat others?  Did we teach them that character is so very important, and most importantly, did we model that?

Billy Graham once said, “Integrity is the glue that holds our way of life together.  We must constantly strive to keep our integrity intact. When wealth is lost, nothing is lost. When health is lost, something is lost. When character is lost, all is lost.”

Mary Southerland said “Integrity is what you do when no one is watching or that character is best illustrated by how you treat people who can do absolutely nothing for you.”

We pray that our children show the character of Christ as they live out their lives to please Him only.

1 Chronicles 28:9b “For the Lord searches the heart, and understands every desire and every thought.”

Leave a Reply

