Refuge

As I was reading through Proverbs today, I read this:

Proverbs 14:26

“Whoever fears the Lord has a secure fortress,
    and for their children it will be a refuge.”

I don’t ever remember reading this before, but it spoke to me.  I needed to hear this.  Have you ever mulled over the past, contemplating if you had made a difference? Have you ever questioned if you had put enough time into your kids, teaching them, preparing them for life, showing them the love of Christ?

Well, I’ve wondered. The “more mature you become” (older), the more you reflect on the past.  At least I have! There’s no turning back. You can’t change the past.  It’s important that you get it as right as possible the first time.  But in reality, it’s a done deal….you can’t go back and rewrite your life and the “what ifs”….

In Philippians 3:13-14 it reminds me that we need to forget what is behind and look forward….because we CAN make a difference going forward, no matter how flawed our past may appear.

“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

Because of God’s grace, I know that He is faithful, even when we lack faithfulness.  He is patient, when we are not. He is complete, when we are lacking. He is strong when we are weak.

So…going forward…I pray that our children will always find our home, their childhood home, their family, and more importantly…our faith… to be a fortress, …not because we were a perfect family (not even close)…but because we serve a mighty God….

Ephesians 3:20

“Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.”

Leave a Reply

