It’s One of those Days!

Do you ever have days when you can’t seem to retrace the last hour of your life….your mind was somewhere else…..maybe you were driving and you realized that for the past hour or so, it was all a blur! How frightening! I’ve done that more times than I can count. No matter how focused we need to be on the present, sometimes our hearts and minds are pulling us away.

This week…this month…this year has been a blur at times.  So much heart ache and struggles and to be honest….spiritual warfare has been thick around here! I’ve always been taught that when God is doing some amazing things, that the enemy will be working over time!

Our daughter and family are coming in to town this week, so I’ve had a running checklist on my kitchen counter as well as in my mind…..cut grass…power wash patio…plant flowers…clean fridge and bathrooms….wash sheets….oh…and buy a new comforter for the guest room.

I hopped in the car and trekked over to Tuesday Morning…one of my all time favorite stores…and picked out a white comforter for the guest bedroom.  I decided, like always, to walk down every single aisle…just in case I found something else…and I always do. Today it was 2 for 1 pool loungers! Tuesday Morning was full of people, and it was difficult to get through the aisles.

I checked out and got back in my car to come home.  I suddenly was aware that I had on flip flops, which I haven’t worn for several weeks because of a skin cancer I had removed on the top of my foot.  It also felt like they were oddly large on my feet and were kind of flopping around on the peddles below.

At the stop sign, I glanced down at my feet and realized that I had accidentally slipped on our son, Austin’s, huge “man” flip flops! For goodness sakes, I had been flopping all around Tuesday Morning up and down every aisle and I never even noticed it!

Instead of being disturbed for my total lack of awareness, I smiled and even laughed a little at the thought of my absentmindedness.  When I slipped on those large flops when I left my home, my mind was totally thinking of something else.

I was also reminded that I need to keep my thoughts captive. I too often allow circumstances to direct my thoughts elsewhere  (mostly on worry) and lose focus of where I need to be. unnamed

Isaiah 26:3 You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.

Leave a Reply

